“Rise and Rise Again”

Posted on December 27, 2010

0


A Post from July 5 2010:

If I am “Robin Hood” then she’s my “Marion Loxley”

Long ago, before my dreams of acting and working in film, an Angel returned from her trip to Europe with a little gift. She brought with her a miniature sword, a souvenir of sorts that fit in my pocket. It was created out of some artisan inspiration from the legendary tale of Robin Hood. She gave it to me as a gift making it the first symbol I owned of the Robin Hood legend; a tale I loved since my days of watching Disney’s “Robin Hood” as a kid.

I remembered that sword the night we watched Ridley Scott‘s latest epic film starring Russel Crowe and Cate Blanchett, “Robin Hood” . As I sat next to her in the cold theater I romanticized a scene to fit my own longing for clarity.

It occurs when Robin discovers an inscription on the sword he must deliver to the Loxley household. Something in me stirred and I looked beyond the frames of each image:

“Rise and rise again until lambs become lions”-

To me it read: “Never give up. Push forth with a relentless spirit only stopping for wisdom and perhaps a breath of fresh air. But speak and act for what is right and true and life in this moment will never be dull. And so the weak become mighty!”

My Angel never gives up on me so I press on…

About the Film:

Another Ridley Scott Epic succeeds in entertaining me. I had my lady with me so the developing romance in the film was truly delightful. This tale is a prequel of sorts and Russell plays the battered Robin well, tired of war and fighting for the wrong reasons. The duty to salvage the honor of the Loxley name by returning the sword to the head of the household fascinates me. Cate Blanchett shines on the screen as the unexpected heroin that rides alongside her new found love. This tale carries a dramatic punch with a balance in action, subtle humor and romance that embodies a normal day in my emotional life.

Here’s a quick look at one of my favorite scenes from the film.

While you will find the trailer on youtube to yell “I am a full blooded Epic that roars, AHHHH!”

This short video has heart and an attention to character that you can expect Cate and Russell to handle so well.

(I know…I should consider counseling, but for now I’ll just keep going to the movies and writing about them, I’m sure that’s some kind of credible therapy….)

We not only watched Robin Hood steal from the rich to give to the poor but we dared to imagine how the legend began. You see, if there’s anything about legends that endlessly intrigues me is the reality that at some point they were people like you and me. Just a man wanting to get by to the next day without too much hassle. An yet sometimes life calls on that man to live beyond his own self inflicted stagnation. I certainly feel and hear the call and every morning I rise and rise again until I get it right.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Posted in: Uncategorized